2013 Alzheimer’s Association Walk to End Alzheimer’s

I was really honored when I was asked if I’d be interested in participating in this event. I’m always happy to help out with charity events, but this one was personal for me, too. My great-uncle passed away from Alzheimer’s, so I’m aware of how heartbreaking this disease can be. Since 1980, the Alzheimer’s Association has been the leading advocacy organization for this disease, supporting research, developing policy resources, and providing support for Alzheimer’s patients and caregivers.

Over 3,000 people participated in the DC walk and raised almost $700,000 in support of the organization! It was so clear how important this issue is to the participants and how meaningful it was for them to take time on a (very chilly!) Saturday morning to come out for this event. Some people had signs and t-shirts in honor of the friends and family they were walking for. Kids and dogs got into the act, too! I was glad to see so many people having a good time raising awareness and am honored I had the chance to be involved.

There’s no way I could share all the photos I have of the great teams that participated on the blog, but I’ve included a few of my favorites from the day below!

flags_alz dogs_alz collage1_alz collage3_alz collage2_alz zany_alz kids_alz

Leave a Reply

