Steve, Lisa & Christopher: A Gravelly Point Park Family Session

I met Lisa, Steve, and Christopher on a windy Saturday afternoon at Gravelly Point Park in Arlington for their family photo shoot. This is one of my favorite locations in the area, so I was excited when they picked it. This park is neat because it is right next to Ronald Reagan National Airport, so planes are often taking off or landing right overhead. The Mount Vernon Trail runs through the park, so it’s a great jumping off point for walking or biking, and as you walk towards the city, you can get some great views of the monuments in DC. It’s a great mix of urban and nature and one of my top places to hang out in the area.

I was also excited to meet this family because they came to me in a special way. I’m a big proponent of supporting causes that are important to you, and one thing that means a lot to me is finding a way to support our military members and their families (which is why all current and former military members and their families get a discount if they book photography services with me). A few months ago, I donated some photography gift certificates for use by the Yellow Ribbon Fund at some of their charity auction events during the year. Lisa and Steve graciously bid on and won my gift certificate at one of the charity events, and it’s a win-win – they support a charity that is doing great work, they get family photos taken, and I get to spend an afternoon with another fun family!

Christopher was all about exploring at the park

Why walk if mom and dad will just swing you along?

Or if you can catch a ride on dad’s shoulders!

Talk about perfect timing – just as we walked under this bridge, a train came along, so we stopped to watch

Someone was clearly excited for the train :)

It’s not like dad really needs to see where he’s going, right?

Thanks so much, B Family, for letting me spend the afternoon with you all, and for supporting the Yellow Ribbon Fund!

Leave a Reply

