Stacey & Frank: Virginia Tech Engagement Session

In some ways, I think doing photo shoots for friends is even harder than doing them for strangers. Even though I always want to do good work for all my clients, my friends and family are the people who have always been there for me and supported me – and are supporting me by hiring me to do their photos – of course I REALLY want to take great photos for them.

So, I was a bit nervous going into this engagement session. Stacey and I were roommates our freshman year at Bethany College. While I think we can both agree that it was a bit crazy of the college to put two only children in the same dorm room (“Oh, you’ve never shared anything in your life? Here, share a space the size of a jail cell!”), we’ve managed to stay friends over the years. Being friends for so long means we’ve seen each other through several relationships, and I was thrilled for Stacey when she and Frank started seeing each other. It didn’t take long to become clear that she was happy in a way that was different than she had been before.

This was my first time meeting Frank, and I have to say, they are a great match. I am not sure I ever would have put them together if I was picking people out of a stack, but seeing them together, they balance each other so well. We met up in Blacksburg to take their photos at Virginia Tech.

Why VT? Frank went to school there and is a football season ticket holder. One of their early dates was a trip down to VT for a game (what a date!) and, Stacey says, VT is where she realized she was really in love with Frank. Doing photos there seemed to make perfect sense, so I met up with them in Blacksburg on a football weekend for photos at Lane Stadium and around campus. It was a gorgeous day for photos and the campus was a great backdrop.

Had to touch the Hokie Stone for good luck before the shoot!

Frank isn’t a big smiler, but I finally got him!

Supermodels

Two of Stacey’s favorite things – a cupcake and her bling

Saving the best for last – I think this may be my favorite of the whole session

Thank you, Stacey and Frank, for having me shoot your engagement session. I can’t wait to celebrate with you guys!

Location: Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA (permission to shoot in Lane Stadium must be requested from the university – there are no guarantees permission will be granted)

Save the Date Lollipops: Vintage Confections

Cupcakes: The Cupcake Ladi

9 thoughts on “Stacey & Frank: Virginia Tech Engagement Session

  1. I love the generous definition of Frank “smiling.” I also love the black and white Classic Frank and Stacey pose. These are some great pictures of Stank!

  2. how did you guys get permission to take pictures at lane stadium? our weddings in may and we’re trying to go to tech in april to take engagement photos and i would LOVE to take it at lane.

    • Hi Priscilla – Congrats on your upcoming wedding! :) As far as getting permission to do photos in the stadium, the bride literally just started emailing everyone she could find on the VT website until someone emailed her back and said yes. (Her fiance is an alum, which may have made a difference, I don’t know.) Not the most scientific way to approach it, but it worked. I hope you have the same luck! (PS – I assume you’re planning to do your e-photos with your wedding photographer, but if not, please let me know – I’d love to shoot down at VT again – it was a beautiful place) Congrats again :)

Leave a Reply

